My Heart Healthy Citrus Chicken Recipe

Hi Everyone,

Today I’m cooking my recipe of Heart Healthy Citrus Chicken. I started by cleaning my chicken. I’m using three pounds of leg quarters. I removed all the skin and as much fat as possible. Next I cut the legs off the thighs then thoroughly rinsed in cold tap water before putting them in an already sprayed with non-stick, deep, 13/9 baking pan. Again, I use extra virgin olive oil non-stick. I placed the ready chicken in the fridge for later while I made my citrus marinade.

Ingredients:

Three pounds of chicken

Two oranges

One tablespoon garlic

One teaspoon pepper

Two tablespoons basil

Two tablespoons red wine vinegar

One tablespoon caraway seeds

One tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

One tablespoon ginger

One and half cup orange marmalade jelly

One and half cup sweet baby rays BBQ sauce

One quarter cup tomato ketchup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Next I grated two tablespoons of orange zest then squeezed the juice from the two oranges with my juicer and put it in a saucepan. This is the start of my citrus marinate.

Mix all other ingredients together in saucepan. This is the citrus marinate. Remove the chicken from fridge. Using half the marinate, cover each piece of chicken as much as possible. Put in oven uncovered on a higher rack. Bake for 30 minutes. Put remaining marinate in fridge.

After 30 minutes, remove chicken from oven and marinate from fridge. Turn each piece of chicken over then spread on the rest of the marinate, being careful to cover each piece. Place chicken back in oven and bake for about 20 minutes. Do a fork check in the bone area for red juice and cook extra accordingly. Total cooking should be 45 to 50 min.

100_6103

Heart Healthy Citrus Chicken – YUM!

This is my version of heart healthy Citrus Chicken. Everyone loves it. Here’s a picture of how my Heart Healthy Citrus Chicken looks when ready to serve.

Next I’m making my Heart Healthy Oven Bake Herb Potatoes.

100_6104

Heart Healthy Herb Potatoes

I coated my oven pan with extra virgin olive oil nonstick spray, then washed eight medium sized Yukon Gold potatoes. I cut off any bad places then sliced into ¾ to 1 inch bites before placing in a large mixing bowl. When all the potatoes are cut, pour in 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil and toss . Potatoes should all be covered well, if not add a little more oil. Next, pour the potatoes in the pan and spread evenly. Now for the spices. This is the fun part. Go to town. Really. The herbs make the potatoes so don’t be shy. Today I’m using garlic, basil, paprika, Italian, thyme, chili powder, parsley. See; just go to town. You’re making herb potatoes. Flip the potatoes over and coat them on the other side. I’m baking the potatoes next to my chicken for 15 min. Then turn them over and bake for 15 min more. Here’s a picture of how my Heart Healthy Herb Potatoes look when ready to serve.

Today’s Salad:

Baby Spinach

Shredded Red Cabbage

½ Green Pepper

½ Cucumber

1 can colander drained garbanzo beans to remove salt

100_6107

Today’s Salad with Heart Healthy Fruity Dressing

My Dressing for today:

2 Tablespoons Pineapple Preserves

2 Tablespoons Pomegranate Red Wine Vinegar

2 Tablespoons Canola Oil

Just mix the ingredients together and the dressing is ready. Here’s a picture of my salad.

Thanks for stopping by.

May good fortune guide your path.

J.A. Ireland

Leave a Reply

