Heart Healthy Sweet Hawaiian Barbecue Ribs

My ribs are so delicious and tender they fall off the bone. You won’t be able to stop eating them.

Barbecue Sauce Ingredients:

One tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

One large onion – finely chopped

Two large cloves garlic – finely chopped

Two cups tomato ketchup

One 10 floz bottle of Hawaiian Punch ( Fruit Juicy Red )

¼ cup Sweet Baby Rays Barbecue Sauce

½ cup Apple Cider Vinegar

Two tablespoons brown sugar

½ teaspoon pepper

One tablespoon onion powder

½ tablespoon ground mustard

½ tablespoon lemon juice

One tablespoon low sodium Worcestershire Sauce

Dry Rub Ingredients:

Two tablespoons brown sugar

Two tablespoons garlic powder

Two tablespoons onion powder

One teaspoon ground cumin

One teaspoon chili powder

One teaspoon black pepper

Two racks of lean pork spare ribs, 3 pounds each.

Night before preparation:

I make my Barbecue Sauce; In a medium sauce pan, I add chopped onions, extra-virgin olive oil, and two large cloves garlic finely chopped. Next I sauté until golden and tender. Now I’m adding all the rest of my remaining ingredients. I’m cooking on low heat for about an hour while stirring constantly. When my Q – Sauce is ready, I’ll put it in the fridge overnight. While it’s cooking, it’s time for my dry rub.

Dry Rub: I pour all the ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl. Next, I’m whisking them all together. Some of the brown sugar is being stubborn so I’m using a fork to break it up further. That should do it. Remembering to stir my sauce.

Next I’m removing my ribs from the fridge and cutting them out of the shrink wrapping. They require a very good rinsing with cold tap water. I pause to stir my sauce. I always remove the membrane; it peels off easily. This allows better penetration of the spices and makes the meat as tender as possible. I also remove any fat. I try to make my cooking as heart healthy as possible. I stir my sauce. I tear off two long sheets of cling wrap and lay on the counter. I stir my sauce. I’m placing the rib racks, bones side up on the sheets. I stir my sauce. Next I spoon my dry rub all over both ribs and rub it in. I carefully turn the ribs over and spoon on the remaining dry rub. I stir my sauce. I use it all and rub it in. Now I’m covering the ribs with the cling wrap. They will require several more sheets to cover them properly. I pause to stir my sauce. I’ll put the ribs in the same large, deep, baking pan that I’m going to use tomorrow. Now my ribs go in the fridge overnight. The sauce is also ready. When it’s cool, I’ll put it in a bowl and place in the fridge overnight.

Tomorrow Is Rib Day; I Can’t Wait

Tick Tock Tick Tock

It’s Tomorrow:

I’m pre-heating my oven to 275 degrees. I remove the baking pan from the fridge and take the ribs out of the pan. I’ll wash the pan for safety and spray it with extra-virgin olive oil non-stick. Next, I very carefully remove the cling wrap from my ribs and gently place them bone side UP in the baking pan. I remove my barbecue sauce from the fridge and gently spoon on both ribs, covering both; completely but not excessively. I’m careful not to disturb the dry rub. I place the ribs in the oven for 45 minutes on a higher rack and the sauce back in the fridge.

Heart Healthy Sweet Hawaiian Barbecue Ribs

Heart Healthy Sweet Hawaiian Barbecue Ribs

After 45 minutes, I remove the ribs from the oven and carefully turn my ribs over. For this job I’m using two sets of tongs. I’m very careful not to disturb the dry rub. I place the ribs meat side UP. I remove my sauce from the fridge. Now I’m generously covering the meaty side of the ribs with my Q – Sauce. I use every last drop. Now it’s back in the oven. I’ll bake my ribs for 3 more hours. Here’s a picture of what my ribs look like when they’re ready to eat.

Everyone loves my Heart Healthy Sweet Hawaiian Barbecue Ribs. I hope you do too. Thanks for stopping by.

J.A. Ireland.

Leave a Reply

